FINA Diving Championships - Netflix

The FINA Diving Championships are the World Championships for aquatic sports: Swimming, Diving, High Diving, Open Water Swimming, Synchronized Swimming and Water Polo. They are run by FINA, and all Swimming events are contested in a long course (50-meter) pool. The event was first held in 1973 and is now held every two years. From 1978-1998, the World Championships were held every four years, in the even years between Summer Olympic years. From 2001 on, the Championships have been held every two years, in the odd years.

FINA Diving Championships - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 120 minutes

Premier: 2016-02-19

FINA Diving Championships - FINA - Netflix

FINA or Fédération internationale de natation (English: International Swimming Federation) is the international federation recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) for administering international competition in water sports. It is one of several international federations which administer a given sport or discipline for the IOC and international community. It is based in Lausanne, Switzerland. FINA currently oversees competition in six aquatics sports: swimming, diving, high diving, artistic swimming, water polo, and open water swimming. FINA also oversees “Masters” competition (for adults) in its disciplines. On 24 July 2009, Julio Maglione of Uruguay was elected FINA President.

FINA Diving Championships - Discipline championships - Netflix

Swimming: World Swimming Championships (25m), (a.k.a. “Short Course Worlds”). Bi-annual event (in even years), swum in 25-meter length pool (Olympic and World Championships are in a 50m pool). Water Polo: Water Polo World Leagues (men's and women's). Diving: Diving World Series. High Diving: High Diving World Series. Open Water: World Open Water Swimming Championships (a.k.a. “Open Water Worlds”). Even years from 2000-2010. Artistic swimming: Synchro World Trophy. Masters: World Masters Championships (a.k.a. “Masters Worlds”). Bi-annual, in even years. “Masters” competition is for adults (20 years old and up). This championships features all 5 disciplines.

FINA Diving Championships - References - Netflix